

11 August 2021

To the Chief Executive Officer:

Phillip Murray, Te Rarawa, phillip@terarawa.co.nz Anahera Herbert-Graves, Ngāti Kahu, nkceo@xtra.co.nz Harry Burkhardt (Chair), Ngati Kurī, harry@replassheet.com Huhana Lyndon, Ngātiwai, raukura@ngatiwai.iwi.nz Sam Napia, Ngāpuhi, sam.napia@ngapuhi.org Bree Davis (Interim CE), Ngāti Kahu o Whāingaroa, bree.davis@whaingaroa.iwi.nz Craig Wells, Ngai Takoto, craig.wells@ngaitakotoiwi.co.nz

APPOINTMENT OF TE KAWAI TAUMATA MEMBER

On 11 November 2020 we received a letter from Te Ohu Kai Moana regarding Te Kawai Taumata and the appointment or reappointment of one member and one alternate member for Te Tai Tokerau. Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua is required by clause 1(2) of Schedule 8 of the Māori Fisheries Act (MFA), to call together the Mandated Iwi Organisations (MIO) of Te Taitokerau to make these appointments. The MIO include Te Rarawa, Ngāti Kahu, Ngāti Kurī, Ngāti Wai, Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Kahu o Whāingaroa, Ngai Takoto and Ngati Whātua.

Kevin Robinson is the current member for Te Taitokerau. He was appointed on 23 September 2015 for a term of four years. His term expired on 22 September 2019; however, he remains in office until he is reappointed, or a new member is appointed in his place as per clause 5(2) of Schedule 8 of the MFA.

The term of the alternate member has also expired and will need to be reappointed or a new alternate appointed. There is no alternate appointed at this stage, but we intend to have an appointment made through this process.

The procedures for appointment of members and alternate members of Te Kawai Taumata, are appended to this letter.

Meeting

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua propose that our MIO appoint two persons at the next Te Kahu o Taonui Chairs meeting on 7 September 2021.

Between now and the next Te Kahu o Taonui meeting, we will receive nominations from MIO for both positions, and notify them to MIO before we meet.

The appointees will be appointed by majority vote of the Mandated Iwi Organisations (MIO), as per s59 of the Maori Fisheries Act.

Nāku noa, nā

Alan Riwaka Manahautū