13 July 2022



Kiri Sloane-Hobson Amorangi |Operations Manager Te Roopu Ringa Raupa Te Kahu o Taonui

By Email: kiri@tkot.org.nz

Tēnā koe e Kiri

Tēnei te mihi maioha kia koe mo tō tuku tono ki Te Aka Whai Ora.

I am writing to you in response to your email of 29 June 2022 sent to Riana Manuel our Chief Executive, with copies for our Board Chairs at the time Tipa Mahuta and Sharon Shae. They have asked me to respond on their behalf since the establishment of Iwi Māori Partnership Boards sits as a function within my team. We acknowledge receipt of the Te Kahu o Taonui Submission - Whanaungatanga ki Taurangi Document along with the Appendix document.

We note that the document outlines your proposed structure and coverage area for an Iwi Māori Partnership Board (IMPB) that extends from the north into Tamaki. You are undoubtedly aware that we have also received another IMPB proposal for the Tamaki area as well. Since no two IMPBs can cover the same area according to the Pae Ora Act (Section 27C(1)(a)), we have advised that the parties meet to meet to resolve boundary lines and determine whether the Tamaki area is to sit within your IMPB or is to be separated off from your coverage area into a new Tamaki IMPB. We have been advised that discussions are being held with Ngāti Whātua in this regard. We will await notification on the outcome of those discussions, as we are unable to progress any propositions (i.e. for listing IMPBs into the legislation) that cover the same geographic area.

If you require any further discussions on the matter of the boundaries, please feel free to contact Rawinia Mariner who is one of our IMPB relationship leads and who can provide current status of that advice re: Tamaki IMPB proposal. Her contact is <u>Rawinia.mariner@health.govt.nz</u> or Phone 27 504 2005.

Mā te Atua tātou e manaaki i roto i te ahuatanga o te wā,

1111 Amelent

Mara Andrews *Ngāti Kahungunu* | *Te Whakatōhea* | *Ngāti Raukawa* Interim Deputy Chief Executive | Service Development and Relations



**Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa** New Zealand Government