HOLD THE DATE: Whangārei Terenga Parāoa Marae, 10 Porowini Ave, Morningside, Whangarei

Kia ora koutou

Ngaa mihi ki a koutou i raro i ngaa tini aahuatanga o te waa.

I hope you are well.  As you know, in July 2020, the government launched the Three Waters Reform Programme – a three-year programme to reform local government three waters service delivery arrangements.

As part of these reforms, the Government is proposing to establish four publicly-owned entities to take responsibility of drinking water, wastewater and stormwater infrastructure across Aotearoa. The Government considers such entities will create an affordable system that ensures delivery of safe drinking water and resilient wastewater and stormwater systems.

The proposed Three Waters reforms will shift the current 67 council-owned and operated Three Waters services into four new publicly-owned entities to manage the future delivery of these services – Entities A, B, C and D.

The hui scheduled on 18 July in Whangarei is an effort to bring together iwi in Entity A to discuss the latest developments in the Three Waters Reforms and discuss next steps.